Apr. 10, 2017

Carter Blake is in serious danger…

Winterlong by Mason Cross

 

My thanks to my contacts at Pegasus Books, Iris Blasi, Katie McGuire, and Maia Larson, for my advance reading copy of this book! Rock on!

Carter Blake is on another mission. His current job is to track down Scott Bryant. Bryant has stolen software in development for a company called Moonla. The President of the company, John Stafford wants returned. He also wants Bryant to serve major time in prison for the theft.

Meanwhile Carter Blake’s acquaintance Martinez has been tracked down and killed. Blake and Martinez had a deal for their continued freedom with the former head of Winterlong, a man named Drakakis. The information they have on a flash drive, known as The Black Book, will be safe as long as they are left alone. Now a new director, a woman called Emma Faraday is in charge, and she wants the threat removed, Blake captured or dead and the Black Book recovered—by any means necessary…

Blake easily tracks down Scott Bryant, but as he attempts to return him to California to face judgment, he is flagged at the Seattle Airport as a “no fly restriction.” The men from Winterlong have found him. In the ruckus that follows, the cab driver that Blake hired is shot dead.

Blake is now on the run, and he has no choice but to keep Bryant with him. Blake has to reach his hideout back East to recover the Black Book. Since he cannot fly, his options are limited. And he is being tracked every step of the way by Winterlong agents who have already shown that they will shoot to kill…

Fans of Jack Reacher and Jason Bourne will find this an exciting hurricane of thrills and intrigue. It is well written, polished, and in my opinion even better than the previous book, Samaritan! And it isn’t easy to top near perfection! Well done Mason Cross! Encore!

I give this exciting novel five stars plus!

Quoth the Raven…

BuyItHere>